Justin Fields

Bears name their captains for the 2023-24 NFL season

The Bears named two newcomers and two veteran captains for the upcoming season

NBC Universal, Inc.

The Bears named four captains for the upcoming NFL season, as voted by the players.

Justin Fields, Eddie Jackson, DJ Moore and Tremaine Edmunds are the Bears' captains for this season.

Last season, Justin Fields and Cody Whitehair represented the offensive captains. Robert Quinn and Roquan Smith represented the defensive captains.

Quinn and Smith are no longer on the team, begging for two new defensive captains. Jackson, who has been with the Bears since 2017, and Edmunds, who the Bears signed this offseason from the Bills, are the next men up.

Fields remains a consistent voice and leader in the locker room. The Bears have expressed their satisfaction with his leadership ability. Moore, who the Bears traded for in a package they received for the No.1 pick in the 2023 NFL draft, is a new captain for the Bears.

"He leads by example and when he speaks, everybody listens," Matt Eberflus said of Moore. "He is just a worker. He’s a playmaker, so guys look up to him and that showed in the votes that he got."

Click here to follow the Under Center Podcast.

Contact Us