Two former Red Stars named finalists for National Soccer Hall of Fame


Two former Chicago Red Stars could be on their way to the National Soccer Hall of Fame in Frisco, Texas, next spring. 

Lori Chalupny and Kate Sobrero Markgraf are among 34 finalists for the 2023 Hall of Fame class. Chalupny is one of 20 player ballot finalists, while Sobrero Markgraf is one of 10 veteran ballot finalists.

Chalupny scored 11 goals across 45 games with the Red Stars from 2013 to 2015 and was the team’s captain when it became one of the National Women’s Soccer League’s eight original teams in 2013. She also shined on the international level, scoring a goal for the U.S. Women’s National Team in the 2008 Olympics semifinal against Japan en route to a gold medal.

Sobrero Markgraf made just six appearances for the Red Stars, all in 2010. She played a more prominent role with the USWNT, though, earning 201 caps. Her international achievements include a World Cup win in 1999, two Olympic gold medals and an Olympic silver medal.

Chalupny and Sobrero Markgraf’s former NWSL club gave them a congratulatory message after the finalists were announced:

Chalupny and Sobrero Markgraf are surrounded by plenty of star power among the finalists. Landon Donovan, David Beckham and Thierry Henry are among the biggest names up for potential enshrinement in 2023. Donovan is in his first year of Hall of Fame eligibility, while Beckham will move to the veteran ballot if he is not voted in as a player this time around.

The Hall of Fame only selects up to six new members each year. Here is the full list of 34 finalists contending for those slots:

Player ballot finalists

  • DaMarcus Beasley
  • David Beckham
  • Lori Chalupny
  • Lauren Cheney Holiday
  • Brian Ching
  • Dwayne DeRosario
  • Landon Donovan
  • Maurice Edu
  • Thierry Henry
  • Eddie Johnson
  • Keith Johnson
  • Jermaine Jones
  • Shalrie Joseph
  • Robbie Keane
  • Lori Lindsey
  • Pablo Mastroeni
  • Josh McKinney
  • Oguchi Onyewu
  • Cat Reddick Whitehill
  • Nick Rimando

Veteran ballot finalists

  • Chris Armas
  • Chico Borja
  • Mary Harvey
  • Frankie Hejduk
  • Clint Mathis
  • Shep Messing
  • Tony Sanneh
  • Kate Sobrero Markgraf
  • Tisha Venturini-Hoch
  • Slavisa "Steve" Zungul

Builder ballot finalists

  • Clive Charles
  • Jill Ellis
  • Lothar Osiander
  • Frank Yallop

The Hall of Fame Voting Committees will vote after conferring for several weeks. The 2023 Hall of Fame induction ceremony is slated for Saturday, May 6, 2023.

Contact Us