Cubs radio broadcaster Pat Hughes named finalist for 2020 Ford C. Frick Award


Cubs radio play-by-place man Pat Hughes has been named a finalist for the 2020 Ford C. Frick Award. 

Friday, the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum announced that Hughes is one of eight finalists for the award, which is presented annually for excellence in baseball broadcasting. To be considered, one needs at least 10 years of continuous major league broadcast service with a team, network or both. 

Along with Hughes, other finalists include retired White Sox broadcaster Ken "Hawk" Harrelson and Tampa Bay Rays broadcaster Dewayne Staats. The latter was a Cubs radio and TV broadcaster from 1985-89 and attended Southern Illinois University. The other six finalists are Joe Castiglione, Jacques Doucet, Tom Hamilton, Ned Martin and Mike Shannon.

The winner will be announced at MLB's Winter Meetings on Dec. 11, while the award will be presented during Hall of Fame weekend 2020 in Cooperstown, N.Y.

Hughes, who also was a finalist for the award in 2017, joined the Cubs in 1996 after spending the previous 12 years with the Brewers. He signed a contract extension with the Cubs last December.

Click here to download the new MyTeams App by NBC Sports! Receive comprehensive coverage of your teams and stream Cubs games easily on your device.
Contact Us