Modern-Era nominees for Pro Football Hall of Fame 2019 Class include former Bears Kreutz, Marshall and Krieg


The Modern-Era nominees for the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2019 were announced on Thursday, and several former Bears made the list.

The most notable being center Olin Kreutz, a six-time Pro Bowler. Kreutz was also named First-Team All-Pro in 2006, the year the Bears made Super Bowl XLI. He was as consistent as they come, and played in all 16 regular season games in 10 of the 14 years he played in the league.

Wilber Marshall, another nominee, was an a physical linebacker who could play on either side of the formation, and finished his 12-year career with 1,020 tackles. He was drafted by the Bears with the 11th overall pick in the 1984 NFL Draft. Marshall also led the ‘85 Bears in tackles with 78 on the season. They went on to finish the season with a 14-2 record and won by 36 points in Super Bowl XX.

Quarterback Dave Krieg also made the list, and the sheer longevity of his 19-year career will surely help his case. He played for the Seattle Seahawks for 11 years before bouncing around with several teams to close his career. Krieg played for Chicago in 1996, throwing for 2,278 yards in his age 38 season.

The Modern-Era nominees for the Class of 2019 will be cut down to 25 players in November and then the list will be cut down to 15 finalists in January. The Selection Committee for the Pro Football Hall of Fame will meet on Saturday, Feb. 2, 2019 in Atlanta, Ga. to elect the Class of 2019.

Contact Us