Women's World Cup

See which teams advanced to the finals of the Women's World Cup and which were eliminated

Here are the two teams left in the 2023 Women's World Cup.

This article may have Spanish-language video from our Telemundo sister station.
NBC Universal, Inc.

It's crunch time at the 2023 Women's World Cup.

Sixteen teams advanced to the knockout stage while all the other teams packed their bags directly from the tournament's group stage. Now, just two teams are left standing.

After two eventful semfinal matches, let's break down the teams that are still alive and the others that have been eliminated:

Did the U.S. advance to the quarterfinals?

The USWNT was eliminated by Sweden in a dramatic penalty kick shootout.

It was the earliest Women's World Cup exit in American history, as the USWNT advanced to at least the semifinals in the first eight tournaments.

USWNT out at Women's World Cup

Sad about the United States being eliminated? Here are some storylines to keep you engaged with the soccer tournament wrapping up in Australia this month.

Nations to root for in Women's World Cup with USWNT out

5 USWNT players to watch for until 2027 Women's World Cup

When and where is the next FIFA Women's World Cup after 2023?

Which teams advanced to the Women's World Cup final?

Spain and England will play in the Women's World Cup final.

Spain punched the first ticket to the final with its 2-1 win over Sweden on Tuesday. Then, England defeated co-host Australia 3-1 in the other semifinal match on Wednesday.

Which teams advanced to the semifinals?

The teams that have advanced to the semifinals were Spain, Sweden, Australia and England.

Which teams advanced to the Round of 16?

The teams that had advanced to the Round of 16 are as follows:

  • Spain
  • Japan
  • Switzerland
  • Norway
  • Australia
  • Nigeria
  • England
  • Denmark
  • Netherlands
  • USA
  • Jamaica
  • France
  • Sweden
  • South Africa
  • Morocco
  • Colombia

Which teams did not make the Round of 16?

The teams that were eliminated before the Round of 16 are as follows:

  1. Costa Rica
  2. Zambia
  3. Republic of Ireland
  4. Vietnam
  5. Panama
  6. New Zealand
  7. Philippines 
  8. Canada
  9. Haiti
  10. China
  11. Portugal
  12. Brazil
  13. Panama
  14. Italy
  15. Argentina
  16. Germany
Ariana Figuera takes a stroll around Stadium Australia at the FIFA Women's World Cup to see what delicious items are available to eat.

Who qualified from Group E to the Round of 16?

The Netherlands and the U.S. qualified for the Round of 16 from Group E. Both have since been eliminated from the tournament.

Contact Us