Frank Thomas in waiting? Cubs hope '22 pick lucky No. 7


Heads up when seven is up in the 2022 MLB Draft next summer.

That’s when the Cubs will make their first-round pick, after they secured the seventh spot with Friday’s 4-3 loss to the Cardinals.

The Cubs last held a top-10 pick in 2015, taking Ian Happ ninth. They drafted in the top 10 five straight seasons from 2011-15, also landing Javy Báez (ninth), Albert Almora Jr. (sixth), Kris Bryant (second) and Kyle Schwarber (fourth).

They’ve had the No. 7 pick twice before, taking Scot Thompson in 1974 and Herman Segelke in 1976. Thompson played eight big-league seasons; Segelke pitched in three games.

Dating back to 2000, the list of seventh-overall picks includes an MVP, a Cy Young Award winner and eight All-Stars.

Well, one MVP and Cy Young. Dodgers ace Clayton Kershaw won both awards in 2014.

Along with Kershaw, the other All-Stars on the list are Prince Fielder, Nick Markakis, Troy Tulowitzki, Yonder Alonso, Mike Minor, Matt Harvey and Aaron Nola.

If you go back a little further, the list of No. 7 picks includes a Hall of Famer. The White Sox drafted Frank Thomas there in 1989.

From 2000-2018, all but three seventh-overall picks reached the big leagues. One — outfielder Matt Laporta — was a top prospect with Milwaukee when traded to Cleveland in 2008 for CC Sabathia. 

Laporta played four big-league seasons from 2009-12.

Perhaps it'll be a lucky number seven for the Cubs as they add young talent to the farm system in this rebuild period.

Here’s a full look at those drafted seventh overall since 2000.

2000: RHP Matt Harrington (Rockies) — didn’t sign

2001: LHP Chris Smith (Orioles — didn’t reach big leagues

2002: 1B Prince Fielder (Brewers) 

2003: OF Nick Markakis (Orioles)

2004: RHP Homer Bailey (Reds)

2005: SS Troy Tulowitzki (Rockies)

2006: LHP Clayton Kershaw (Dodgers)

2007: 1B Matt LaPorta (Brewers)

2008: 1B Yonder Alonso (Reds)

2009: LHP Mike Minor (Braves)

2010: RHP Matt Harvey (Mets)

2011: RHP Archie Bradley (Diamondbacks)

2012: LHP Max Fried (Padres)

2013: LHP Trey Ball (Red Sox) — didn’t reach big leagues/last pitched in minors in 2018

2014: RHP Aaron Nola (Phillies)

2015: OF Andrew Benintendi (Red Sox)

2016: LHP Braxton Garrett (Marlins) — made MLB debut in 2020

2017: 1B Pavin Smith (Diamondbacks) — made MLB debut in 2020

2018: LHP Ryan Weathers (Padres) — made MLB debut in 2021

2019: LHP Nick Lodolo (Reds)

2020: SS Nick Gonzales (Padres)

2021: LHP Frank Mozzicato (Royals)

Click here to follow the Cubs Talk Podcast.

Contact Us